top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaggie Few

Hiking Guide to Machine Falls, TN

Updated: Mar 14, 2023

Of all the hikes in the world, I would argue that hikes with waterfalls are the most rewarding. Not only do they offer a great view, but if you find a good one like Machine Falls, they are interactive. At the time I am writing this, I have been to Machine falls twice: once in May and once in March. There are definitely a few differences which I will outline, along with my top tips for the Machine Falls trail for you!

 

Trail Overview:

Machine Falls is located on the Machine Falls Loop at the Short Spring Natural Area in Tullahoma, TN. The Machine Falls Loop is the main loop in this area but there are several other trails that split off of the trail. The Adams Falls Loop is a moderate loop located off the Machine Falls Loop. There is also the short and sweet Wildflower trail, The Busby Falls Trail, and the Laurel Bluff Trail which is accessed from the Busby Falls Trail. I will be focusing on the Machine Falls loop and the Adams Falls loop today but I will update this blog post as I gather more research on my visits.


The Machine Falls Loop:

Approximately 1 mile long according to the official map, the Machine Falls Loop trail is an

easy/moderate trail (see my trail ranking guide). The trail is pretty straightforward with minimal climbing (until you reach the falls). I consider it moderate because of some very steep inclines. There is a connecter trail that takes you straight to the falls and bypasses the steepest part of the main loop, but I would still call it easy/moderate even with the connecter.


When you first enter the trail, you will find a few signs. You can either take the left or the right of the loop trail depended on how fast you want to reach the falls. The left is the fastest way to the falls and the right is where the steeper incline is located with the bulk of the trail.



This is the map you will see at the trailhead. Please forgive the bad lighting but this is the best map I could find as opposed to others I found online. The thick white line at the bottom right is the trailhead loop. It is a short loop that you start on no matter what. If you go right, you will find the Machine Falls loop with looks pale yellow on this map. If you go left you will continue on the Trailhead loop section and make it to the falls the quickest. If you go right, you will take the bulk of the Machine Falls loop and have the option to take either the connecter trail (red) or the Adams Falls loop (which is super dark yellow and faded on this map). The blue trail that connects to the Trailhead loop is Busby Falls loop and the purple trail is the Laurel Bluff Loop.


The Adams Falls Loop:

The Adams Falls loop is about 1 mile and is accessed from about the halfway point on the Machine Falls loop. I do not have a lot of information on Adams Falls because when I took that trail on my recent early March visit, there was not much of a "falls". But the trail overall, while moderate, was a fun trail and the closer to summer we get, the more beautiful it will be. Due to the steep incline and declines, the Adams Falls Loop is a good addition to the Machine Falls loop if you are looking for an extra challenge.


 

Parking:

The parking for the Machine Falls trail and related trails is a bit of a tricky situation. The parking is in the Short Spring Natural Area and is comprised of about 12ish parking spots. Due to the popularity of this trail, the parking is often full so I would recommend compacting your group into as few vehicles as possible. The trail and parking is located on a small back road but it is easy to find. Look for a large white water tower and the parking is right next to it. The trail is directly across the road from the parking and it is a safe walk due to the visibility on the road. With all that being said, please adhere to the parking rules of the Short Spring Natural Area and do not park on the side of the road or where there are signs restricting parking. Be respectful of the Natural Area!


 

The Best Time to Go:

Like I stated at the beginning of this post, I have been to Machine Falls twice: once in May of 2022 and once in March of 2023. Based on my two experiences, I can say there is no "bad" time to go. Personally, if I am hiking in late fall/winter, I would prefer to have something cool, like a waterfall, to look forward to on my hike as I will not see much green beauty on the trail.

March is a great time to go if you are itching to get outside and immersed in nature. The Falls are still falling, there just is not a lot of green and the trail can be muddy and dead looking. However, it is a good workout with the beautiful reward of a waterfall to admire.


May is probably my preferred time to visit. While it can and most likely will be uncomfortably hot thanks to Tennessee's weather, if you can find a sunny day to go, the falls will be refreshing. When I went in May of 2022 the water at the falls was still very cold and the warm weather just barely cut it for warming me up after. Overall, the trail was more enjoyable in May due to the green leaves and flowers blooming.


I estimate that visiting in June or July will yield a nice temperature of water and a beautiful trail, as long as you don't mind the scorching heat. I have yet to visit in the fall but I am excited to go this year and see the waterfall surrounded by the changing leaves. Updates to come!


Photos of March (top 3) versus May (bottom 3):


 

Last Notes:

Those are my top tips and notes from hiking at Machine Falls! The last thing I want to leave you with are a few encouraging words and some helpful links :)


Whether you have been hiking a million times or never before, you can get outside and enjoy nature! This trail is one of the best in central Tennessee (don't let the moderate rating scare you). While I wouldn't recommend taking small children or people with disabilities on this trail, it is a great trail for beginner hikers who want to up their game!


With all that being said, here is the address of the parking lot!


Short Springs State Natural Area:

2250 Short Springs Rd

Tullahoma, TN 27388


Link to Alltrails & their reviews:



Find videos and more photos on my Instagram @journeywithmags

I have them saved to my TN Adventure Guide highlight.


Happy Trails!

xo Mags





12 views

Comments


bottom of page